20 years

As I was checking out baseball news today I tried to remember when I first started cheering for the Cincinnati Reds and was amazed that I have been a loyal fan for close to 20 years now. Of course there were years where I did not cheer as loud as others but I have never jumped any band wagons and trust me many years it was a tough battle not to. I have seen good players and I have seen bad. I got to see young players become Gods and older players prove they were still good enough to play. I have shed lots of tears and drank lots of beers cheering them on. (Where I come from we say beer or beers so don’t correct me, I was just letting it flow.)

When I first became a fan it was not easy for me to watch any of their games. We only got Toronto Blue Jays games most of the time and once and awhile they would show Montreal Expos games. That is when I would watch the Reds play them. It was very tough to be a fan at this time but I kept strong and it paid off in 1990 when they went on to win the World Series. Chris Sabo, Billy Hatcher, Eric Davis, Barry Larkin, Mariano Duncan, Hal Morris, Ken Griffey (Sr., thank you very much.) Tom Browning, Jose Rijo, Norm Charlton, Danny Jackson, Rob Dibble, Randy Myers, Scott Scudder and Chris Hammond are names I will remember for the rest of my life. It also explains why I never liked Tony LaRussa much when I was younger, and then when he came to St. Louis it got worse. I respect him cause of how great of a manager he was but he ranks high as one of my most hated managers of all time. Lou Piniella on the other hand has a mixed reaction from me. I loved him and then hated him.

I love looking at the history of the franchise and love to see them still going strong today. The Reds will always be a big part of the National League and people can not talk about the history of baseball without talking a little bit about the Reds. Sure they did not have the years the New York Yankees have had or the St. Louis Cardinals but they have always put together a great team every season.

No matter what happens this offseason I will remain a fan until the day I die and I hope that before that day comes I can witness them win another Championship.

Leave a Reply

